We use cookies on our website in order to improve your experience. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies.

Shangri La Tanjung Aru Resort, Borneo Reviews

Our average holiday rating for Shangri La Tanjung Aru Resort is:

Room 8.0 / 10
Service 8.5 / 10
Food 7.8 / 10
Facilities 8.6 / 10
Average 8.3 / 10

(Scores averaged from 13 reviews.)

Lucinda P. travelled in 2016-09-20 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10 We stayed in the Shangri-La in Kuala Lumpur (I was not able to rate three places) and that was fantastic but unfortunately the Shangri-La at Tanjung was dated and tired and extremely busy. They were also doing renovations in some parts which was a little disruptive. The Shangri-La in KL had also upgraded us due to our repeat custom but the Shangri-La in Borneo was not interested in that at all. We paid to access the Club Lounge on a couple of days which was well worth it - breakfast away from the crowds and lovely canapes and drinks in the early evening. I am sure it will become a nice hotel once all the work is done but I think it will take a while as even the rooms are rather tired and dated which did not appear to be on the agenda for renovation. The staff were lovely though.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 7.0 / 10
Average 7.0 / 10

Jane R. travelled in 2016-07-18 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 lots of Chinese staying in honotel which made breakfast busy and noisy at night late
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.0 / 10

Emma A. travelled in 2014-06-19 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 Lovely hotel. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help make our stay comfortable. Special mention goes to Arther Andrew, the assistant manager of food and beverages, who treated us like royalty during our honeymoon. We recommend Shang Palace for exceptional Chinese cuisine and Coco Joe's Bar and Grill for delicious, uncomplicated food.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.5 / 10

Keith G. travelled in 2014-05-27 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 As good as the resort was, we where disappointed with the restrictive access to the rain rainforest area, one could only walk in this area at limited times, with a guide and a charge, the only area we had easy access to; was the beach, and small area to the rear.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Gerry D. travelled in 2013-12-30 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 6.0 / 10 This hotel seemed to cater more for Chinese than European guests, hence there were special dining options for Christmas eve but not for Christmas day.
Service 8.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 6.8 / 10

Richard G. travelled in 2013-09-17 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 Get a cab to the "Centre Point Mall" in the town and walk to the sea front. Great local food at very low prices whilst sat next to the sea with a wonderful sunset.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 10.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.8 / 10

Gerald S. travelled in 2012-03-03 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 This was by far the best hotel we have ever stayed in
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 10.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 10.0 / 10

Ruth G. travelled in 2011-09-22 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 The pool at this hotel is the most stunning we have ever seen - amazing.
Service 6.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 7.5 / 10

Kim C. travelled in 2011-05-09 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 Lovely hotel
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Linsey H. travelled in 2010-08-25 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10 Checking in was very slow and there was no extra beds provided for the children. We were told they didn`t have any but the problem was sorted eventually. The 3 day trip was fantastic excellant organisation Thank you!
Service 5.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 7.0 / 10
Average 6.0 / 10

Bryn C. travelled in 2010-07-28 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 8 out of 10 ,a very nice place to start the holiday after a long flight .the spa is a must .
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.0 / 10

Steve P. travelled in 2010-06-14 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 we found the prices in the hotel to be very expensive,but most nights we ate out at the local restuarants which is definatly the best thing to do
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.5 / 10

Joe B. travelled in 2010-06-08 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 Food & drinks expensive - room service was cheapest option
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10
Good News! There are 13 suppliers who can supply prices.

Just fill in the form below and we get the prices from tour operators without giving them your personal details. We can also provide impartial, tailored advice if you wish.

Complete the details below and one of our experts will be in touch within 24 hours to give you your tailored Shangri La Tanjung Aru Resort, Borneo Reviews options & packages

100% Privacy Guaranteed

We respond in minutes and hours rather than days and weeks.

Benefits of using Holidaysplease

100% Privacy Guaranteed