We use cookies on our website in order to improve your experience. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies.

Avani Kalutara Resort, Sri Lanka Reviews

Our average holiday rating for Avani Kalutara Resort is:

Room 6.3 / 10
Service 6.9 / 10
Food 7.2 / 10
Facilities 6.9 / 10
Average 6.8 / 10

(Scores averaged from 10 reviews.)

Nikki S. travelled in 2016-11-07 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 Lovely hotel. Friendly, helpful staff.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 10.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 10.0 / 10

Kevin F. travelled in 2016-01-01 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 I would recommend other people to you and this hotel.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.5 / 10

Leanne W. travelled in 2015-08-19 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 7.0 / 10 Bar staff were slow and failed to walk around the pool/bar area taking orders. This was something we found strange as all other resorts we have been to before did this. Spa facilities were okay. The room I was put into was a bedroom converted into a spa. No change if decor, candles or relaxing music was played during my treatment. Restaurant-slow to clear tables,take a drink order. Food available was brilliant. There was something new every evening. There was something to suit everyone's taste buds. Reception staff-friendly and very helpful.
Service 5.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 5.0 / 10
Average 6.5 / 10

Leanne W. travelled in 2015-08-19 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10
Service 5.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 5.0 / 10
Average 5.0 / 10

Sandra N. travelled in 2013-06-14 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10
Service 5.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 5.0 / 10
Average 5.0 / 10

Frances L. travelled in 2013-02-28 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 A well run hotel, with very attentive staff. An amazing setting right on a long wide stretch of sandy beach. The grounds were very well kept and it was a very comfortable relaxing stay
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.3 / 10

Barry G. travelled in 2010-09-20 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 7.0 / 10 Overall great value for mney- no complaints , you get what you pay for.
Service 7.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 7.0 / 10
Average 7.0 / 10

Jane S. travelled in 2010-09-05 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 2.0 / 10 The food was poor, and service was somewhat unfriendly. Even when I was ill, and needed to go to hospital, staff were not helpful in making us feel at ease about going to hospital in an unfamiliar place. We felt fortunate when we eventually got back safely, but the staff in no way helped ensure this. We were on all inclusive and therefore had to wear wristbands all week. However, we felt it was strange that we had to sign for everything we consumed. We also felt restricted within the hotel as there were so many locals that hung around the boundaries of the hotel. We went on the beach twice - both times we got harassed. Finally, the room seemed unclean, as we were both bitten during the night by what we thought were bed bugs.
Service 2.0 / 10
Food 3.0 / 10
Facilities 5.0 / 10
Average 3.0 / 10

Michael B. travelled in 2010-01-21 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10 HOTEL IS A BIT TIRED BUT OFFERS GREAT VALUE FOR MONEY - ROOMS ARE SMALL - STANDARD AND SUPERIOR SAME SIZE AND STYLE ONLY DIFFERENCE IS THE VIEW - STAFF VERY FRIENDLY AND FOOD WAS GREAT FIRST WEEK NOT SO GOOD SECOND WEEK - GREAT LOCATION AND WAS PERFECT FOR RELAXING HOLIDAY
Service 8.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 7.3 / 10

Clemmie G. travelled in 2009-08-02 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 5.0 / 10 The bed in our room was very uncomfortable. We had to have the mattress changed after our first night as our backs were wrecked and the 2nd one was marginally better - we had to use sun-lounger mattresses on top in the end. The fridge was very dirty and smelled and had to ask twice to have it cleaned. The safe had come loose from the wall, which was never fixed despite asking twice. The staff in general were fantastic, the food was extremely varied and fabulous, the pool staff were very friendly and helpful in particular, especially Manesh. One of our housekeeping boys was relentless in chasing us around the hotel for his tip but Veejay, who cleaned our room in the evening, was fantastic and a lovely man. We met some great people and it was a very relaxed place to be. A great spa too. We are aware that the Tsunami had a major impact on the hotel and they are still rebuilding the resort and trying to attract more visitors, but they really need to address the room comfort, in particular the beds. Our shower leaked a great deal onto the bathroom floor and the pillows smelled of damp. Not pleasant! They could do a lot more to keep the beach clean and make it more inviting - a missed opportunity. The current is very strong and washes alot of debris up, but they could utilise it better. The beach boys could be way too persistant and never left you alone, even when you clearly expressed you wanted space, a quiet walk alone and you weren't interested in taking trips with them. Too much. The local village was interesting, the local town, Kalutara was an experience too (!) and the local people were very friendly, curious and the kids were adorable - big smiles everywhere! But generally it was a great place to be and we would go back there. You can relax and do lots at the hotel, take in the local area or go wider afield. Great options whatever level of energy you had!
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 7.8 / 10
Good News! There are 9 suppliers who can supply prices.

Just fill in the form below and we get the prices from tour operators without giving them your personal details. We can also provide impartial, tailored advice if you wish.

Complete the details below and one of our experts will be in touch within 24 hours to give you your tailored Avani Kalutara Resort, Sri Lanka Reviews options & packages

100% Privacy Guaranteed

We respond in minutes and hours rather than days and weeks.

Benefits of using Holidaysplease

100% Privacy Guaranteed