We use cookies on our website in order to improve your experience. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies.

Telephone

0121 705 3308

Email

New holiday enquiries:
travelexperts@holidaysplease.com

Existing bookings:
admin@holidaysplease.com

Maafushivaru, Maldives Reviews

Maafushivaru Coffee BarMaafushivaru Deluxe Beach VillaMaafushivaru Beach VillaMaafushivaru Water Villa

Our average holiday rating for Maafushivaru is:

Room 9.1 / 10
Service 9.6 / 10
Food 8.3 / 10
Facilities 8.7 / 10
Average 8.9 / 10

(Scores averaged from 11 reviews.)

Dean S. travelled in 2022-07-11 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 Paradise in every sense of the word. We have recently returned from maafushivaru celebrating our 10 year anniversary, having visited for our honeymoon. Initially we wondered if the island could live up to our first experience 10 years ago. I have to say that it far surpassed it. The recent refurb is stunning. The aesthetics and detail of this island are perfect and the island is immaculately kept, to the point where grounds staff trimmed the grass with scissors to ensure accuracy. If the aesthetic isn’t enough, what really makes this such a magical place are the staff! Each and every one of the staff were amazing. This is true first class service. Nothing was too much trouble and always done with a genuine smile. Even the resort manager is present and takes the time to ask how your stay is. Having stayed in a water villa previously we decided to upgrade to a pool water villa with a sunset view (any odd number villa) and have to say that this really added to our experience, it is definitely worth the extra. The food…. Wow the food is just first class, something for everyone with 3 a la carte restaurants (Italian, Japanese and grill) and a buffet restaurant, there is something for everyone. I had a fillet steak at the grill that was just beautiful. You do need to book the restaurant’s though. The quality of the food is beautiful and we enjoyed every meal. We opted for the dine around all inclusive that includes all meals and drinks (branded drinks) and I would say this is a must as it would be extremely expensive to pay for your meals individually. Our average food bill was around $180-200. A beer and a cocktail was approximately $30. The island is a small island but does not, in any way feel crowded. Almost the opposite in fact. Each day there were only two or three couples on the beach. We used the spa twice during our stay. It is not cheap (approx $300-$400 for a couple massage) but well worth it to truly help you to relax in the most perfect setting. Again this needs to be pre booked. I also used the gym. It is very well equipped with new state of the art life fitness machines. The best compliment I could give this resort is that we really didn’t want to leave, to the point, like other reviews, it was emotional boarding the sea plane to leave! We will definitely return in the near future. Cant thank our travel agent Paula enough. She went out of our way to help with our booking. Thank you.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 10.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 10.0 / 10

Debbie T. travelled in 2019-02-07 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 From our arrival in Male the service we received was fantastic, Maafushivaru is one of the best islands that me and my husband have been to the stafff all deserve a big pat on the back as couldn’t do enough for us, Can’t wait to book another holiday Big thanks Debbie and Richard xxx
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 10.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.5 / 10

Christina P. travelled in 2017-10-11 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 Third time to the island and will return....
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.3 / 10

Mhairi R. travelled in 2013-07-10 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 Fantastic island, very well maintained and managed. Staff super-friendly and really lovely to be around. Food was very good and lots of choice - quality consistent throughout the week. Small island but lots to do. We arrived 17/6 and only 70% occupancy due to main holidays not starting yet - good week to go on honeymoon - felt like we had lots of the beach to ourselves which was lovely. Snorkelling out of this world. Spa was very special with real variation in the treatments available. Daily entertainment in the evenings - we enjoyed our first night after dinner on bean bags on the beach watching a film on the big screen under the stars - very special! Thank you HolidaysPlease and Jessica x
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.3 / 10

Anne S. travelled in 2011-11-30 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 Food a little repetitive, house wine a bit poor particularly the red
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Michael H. travelled in 2011-11-20 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 7.0 / 10 Only complaint was that there could have been more variety with the food although this did not effect the holiday which was very good.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 7.0 / 10
Average 7.5 / 10

Debby G. travelled in 2011-10-28 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 This was our 5th time to the Maldives so we wanted a bit more than the basic maldivean island has to offer, as in the room and eating and drinking options. We could not fault the room, we were in a Pool Villa which was lovely, stepping out onto your own private veranda with a lovely plunge pool, a few steps away you also have your own private part of the beach with sunbeds, although this was near the dive center, which was not a problem for us, it was quieter this side of the beach, but if that what you want then it will suit you. This room is normally only sold to families and couples who are on holiday together as there are 2 rooms that share the same pool, we were luckily enough to have it all to ourselves. Only downside was as it was so hot there was no breeze at all, so it was very hot. If you went to the main beach area there a bit of a breeze and this does make a difference. But if you want peace and quite and privacy this is perfect. We know they only had 1 restaurant, which normally is not a problem for us, but the food was not that good, lunch was fine, salads nice, but on an evening I did not think there was much choice variety in general. When they had theme nights basic components were missing, as in Tex Mex night, they could have had sour cream, they had every other sauce but this, just a little thing, but when the food is a big part of your holiday on these islands it makes a difference. It has made us realise, that if we visit the Maldives again we would like more options to eat, as in other restaurants. You could pay to eat al a carte, but i thought it was very expensive and so were the options to eat on the beach and the other island Lonobu, as we have done this before we were not bothered, but for people who have not been before they will probably do it as they may never get to do it again, just think it was a tad too expensive, probably just my personal opinion. Staff - could not fault them, especially the bar staff, they always made sure you had a drink, they remembered what you drank and were always very friendly, the staff definitley make this island. We did not do much snorkelling, but this is not what we go to the Maldives for, we go for the perfect white sand and clear blue sea and to relax, but were told the snorkelling was good, I didn't see many fish near to where our room was, and have been to other islands where the fish have been close to the beach. All in all, lovely island, just a shame about the food.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 5.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.0 / 10

Barbara M. travelled in 2011-10-26 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 very good and always enough to go round
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Gill K. travelled in 2011-07-16 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 Beautiful island with a high standard. Kuoni needs to make it clearer in their details that all water sports come at an extra cost. Disappointing for an all inclusive resort.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Catherine F. travelled in 2011-05-12 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 This was a very well run resort, all the staff were polite and professional, and nothing was too much trouble. They made every effort to ensure our stay was as relaxing and enjoyable as possible. The accommodation was clean and comfortable, the food was excellent with a good variety of dishes served avery day. The house reef and that of the sister island were excellent for snorkelling and I would also recommend the snorkelling trips with the resident marine biologist who was friendly and informative.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.3 / 10

Jocelyn W. travelled in 2011-02-25 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 The first time done an internet booking and found it very simple
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.3 / 10

Other Indian Ocean Hotels

Best Maldives Hotels

Maafushivaru, Maldives Reviews

Good News! There are 5 suppliers who can supply prices.

We can get prices from tour operators without giving them your details. and will provide expert, impartial advice quickly. Just enter your details below...

100% Privacy Guaranteed

We respond in minutes and hours rather than days and weeks.

Benefits of using Holidaysplease
  • Get options without giving your details to lots of companies
  • Impartial, truly expert advice
  • Trust Pilot Top 3 for Customer Service
  • UK Online Travel Agency Of the Year 2019/20
  • 100% Privacy Guaranteed