We use cookies on our website in order to improve your experience. By using our website you consent to our use of cookies.

The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, Mexico Reviews

Our average holiday rating for The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort is:

Room 8.7 / 10
Service 7.9 / 10
Food 8.3 / 10
Facilities 8.7 / 10
Average 8.4 / 10

(Scores averaged from 9 reviews.)

Emma B. travelled in 2018-11-01 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 Opulent well maintained hotel with amazing staff
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 9.8 / 10

Colin M. travelled in 2018-09-27 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 Hotel was great, service second to none!!, but would choose a room without a communicating door next time,... and there will be a next time.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.0 / 10

Sharon G. travelled in 2018-09-04 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 This hotel has got to be one of the best hotels I have been to. Would recommend this hotel to large groups and families with children. You will not be disappointed.
Service 9.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Kuli K. travelled in 2018-08-11 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 10.0 / 10 The hotel was great however a few points to note are although the food was great there was always a significant wait for a table. On numerous occasions we would go to the buffet restaurant and face an hour wait. The steak restaurant was always a hour and a half and this when traveling with children isn’t ideal. We went at various times and it always seemed to be a very long wait at dinner time. We were also unable to book into the oriental restaurant as the time given was always at 9.45pm. Again this wouldn’t be ideal with children. No tea making facility in the room meant we kept having to get room service which would take over an hour. It seemed that the hotel didn’t have the capacity in the restaurants to cater for the sheer volume of guests. We were also given contradictory information regarding the resort credit as to what we could use it on so we didn’t get to go on the Dolphin swim. We were told by one person that we couldn’t go due to my daughters height then another said provided one of us was in with her we could have booked it. We found this out too late to actually book on. We ended up paying for an additional tour as opposed to using the resort credit. We were also charged $110 for bedding due to our baby being slightly sick on a pillow. This was a bit ridiculous and we refused to pay it so the hotel eventually voided the charge after we complained.
Service 7.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 4.0 / 10
Average 7.3 / 10

Fiona M. travelled in 2018-07-11 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 Having been before the 5* service had dropped. Now that Moon Grand has expanded it feels like Sunrise & Nizuc are forgotten about and it's all about Grand which is a shame. We had money stolen from our room as the safe didn't work and not mended even though we reported it on the first night. Hotel investigated but nothing came of it. Facilities were excellent with the exception of the seaweed at the hotel - it was horrendous - mounds of it on the beach and the smell was like open drains. They did work continuously to clear it but an impossible task for them. The hotel had no note of us being returning guests or that we were there for a 5th year wedding anniversary celebration which was a shame. Having been before it was a slight disappointment this time. They have taken away the free courtesy bus into Cancun sister hotels as this is now only for Elite members so this added $50 for taxis each time that we were not expecting - bus was half empty most days. Areas around the pool are now reserved for Elite members and probably only 2 days out of the 14 days were these loungers used. The pool staff and most restaurant staff were amazing but a few were only driven by who would tip them the most. We were also transferred onto BA as Virgin cancelled our flight a few months before but the comparison of Worldtraveller Plus on BA did no where near meet like for like Premier Economy on Virgin (very disappointed). All in all would probably not recommend Moon Palace to friends now which is a shame.
Service 4.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 7.3 / 10

Scott F. travelled in 2017-07-26 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 The hotel started to struggle when they moved staff from the older buildings into the newer area ( The Grand) to support training etc. Service in restaurants and bars was noticeably slower.
Service 8.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 10.0 / 10
Average 8.8 / 10

Karen H. travelled in 2017-01-12 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 Hotel too big so loses atmosphere that smaller places have. Staff seam stressed and unable to assist most of the time. That said it was spotless , food varied and genuinely good , spa wonderful treatments and arena circus event excellent . Christmas Eve and new year disappointment
Service 6.0 / 10
Food 8.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 8.0 / 10

Mark D. travelled in 2015-09-10 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 9.0 / 10 Loved the place, my only gripe would be that I paid for concierge but didnt book in at the concierge desk, subsequently I feel I missed out on a lot of what I paid for.
Service 10.0 / 10
Food 9.0 / 10
Facilities 9.0 / 10
Average 9.3 / 10

Jay K. travelled in 2014-03-29 and gave the following review:

Score Comments
Room 8.0 / 10 There were a few issues with the language barrier. Resort was very big. We had a few issues with the room (toilet leaked, then cockroaches)
Service 7.0 / 10
Food 7.0 / 10
Facilities 8.0 / 10
Average 7.5 / 10
Good News! There are 7 suppliers who can supply prices.

Just fill in the form below and we get the prices from tour operators without giving them your personal details. We can also provide impartial, tailored advice if you wish.

Complete the details below and one of our experts will be in touch within 24 hours to give you your tailored The Moon Palace Golf & Spa Resort, Mexico Reviews options & packages

100% Privacy Guaranteed

We respond in minutes and hours rather than days and weeks.

Benefits of using Holidaysplease

100% Privacy Guaranteed